KVA B    KVA C    KVA D1




    The LXXXII Armeekorps was established in France on 25 May 1942 by renaming the Höheren Kommandos z.b.V. XXXVII. LXXXII Armeekorps occupied the triangle Dunkerque, Montreuil, Aire-sur-la-Lys, where its headquarters was located. The corps remained in Northern France until the allied invasion in Normandy. In August 1944 it fought in the Loire and Champagne, finding itself in the Saar area from September of that year, on both occasions serving under the 1 Armee. Finally, in april 1945 the corps would end the war fighting in the Hessen and Thüringen areas as part of 7 Armee.




    The corps had the following commanders:


General der Infanterie Alfred Boehm - Tettelbach

25.05.42 - 31.10.42

General der Infanterie Ernst Dehner

01.11.42 - 01.04.43

Generaloberst Erwin Jaenecke

01.04.43 - 30.05.43

General der Infanterie Ernst Dehner 30.05.43 - 09.07.43
General der Artillerie Johannes Sinnhuber 10.07.43 - 01.09.44


pictures from www.unithistories.com
General der Infanterie
Alfred Boehm - Tettelbach
General der Infanterie
Ernst Dehner
Erwin Jaenecke
General der Artillerie
Johannes Sinnhuber

    The general staff was composed as follows:

Chef des Generalstabes Oberst Wilhelm von Ditfurth 25.05.42 - 14.02.43
Oberstleutnant Heinrich von Sybel 15.02.43 - 20.02.44
Oberst Rudolf-Christoph Freiherr von Gersdorff 01.02.44 - 29.07.44
Erster Generalstabsoffizier (Ia) Oberst Otto Lichtschlag 25.05.42 - 06.01.43
Oberstleutnant Oskar Wittstein 06.01.43 - 30.10.43
Major Sven von Mitzlaff 01.11.43 - 24.08.44
Major Joachim Lindner 25.08.44 - 01.02.45
Korpspionierführer (Ia/Pi) Oberstleutnant Hausmann 12.08.42
Korpsnachrichtenführer (Nafü) Oberst Ernst Mangelsdorff 01.04.40 - 01.44
Oberstleutnant Wilhelm Wagner 01.44 - 08.44
Gasabwehroffizier (Ia/Gabo) Hauptmann Bausch 12.08.42
Mess-Kartenstelle-Offizier (Ia/Mess) Oberleutnant Brünner 12.08.42
Erster Ordonnanzofficier (O1) Hauptmann Friedrichowitz 12.08.42
Ordonnanzofficier zbV Leutnant Langemann 12.08.42
Dritter Generalstabsoffizier (Ic)/ Abwehroffizier Major Hans Diefenhard 12.08.42 - ?
Dritter Ordonnanzoffizier (O3) Hauptmann Scherkl 12.08.42
Vierter Ordonnanzoffizier (O4) Oberleutnant Wolf 12.08.42
Quartiermeister (Qu) Major Richter 12.08.42
Korpsintendant (IVa) Intendanturrat Günther 12.08.42
Korpsarzt (IVb) Generalarzt Dr Huber 12.08.42
Korpsveterinär (IVc) Oberstveterinär Bergelt 12.08.42
Korpsfeldpostmeister Feldpostmeister Köhler 12.08.42
Erster Korpsadjudant (IIa) Oberstleutnant Gebhard von Windheim 01.03.42 - 12.08.42(?)
Major Wolf von Tumpling(?) 25.05.42(?) - 19.08.42(?)
Major Joachim Niebuhr 20.08.42 - 45
Zweiter Korpsadjudant (IIb) Major Müller 12.08.42
Major Joachim Niebuhr 01.01.43 - ?
Kommandant des Haupquartiers Major Klaus von Oppel 01.42 - 12.08.42(?)
Major Joachim von Alt-Stutterheim(?) 01.04.42(?) - 04.43
Oberstleutnant Josef Strobl 01.04.43 - 03.44
Truppenarzt Stabsarzt Dr Wagner 12.08.42
Korpszahlmeister (IVz) Stabszahlmeister Legenstein 12.08.42
Korpsregistrator Obersekretär Hubert 12.08.42
Korpsjustizbeamber (III) Feldkriegsgerichtsrat Peuler 12.08.42




    Uniquely for the German Westfront, the LXXXII Armeekorps was made up of six divisions (three alongside the coast and 3 in reserve further inland) to defend 120 kilometres of coastline and totalled about 60,000 troops. Only one of its divisions (the 331 Infanteriedivision) was motorised, though.

Each division stationed at the coast defended a predetermined sector, the so-called Küstenverteitigungsabschnit or KVA. On 1 June the corps had the following KVAs and divisions:


KVA B French-Belgian border to Marck 18 Luftwaffenfelddivision
KVA C Marck to Equihen-Plage 47 Infanteriedivision
KVA D1 Equihen-Plage to Merlimont-Plage 49 Infanteriedivision

The general commanding each division was at the same time also the commander of the KVA. In the hinterland three reserve divisions were stationed:

331 Infanteriedivision (HQ: Licques)
326 Infanteriedivision (HQ: Enquin-les-Mines)
182 Reservedivision (HQ: Helfaut)

The following clickable map shows the various Küstenverteitigungsabschnitte. Clicking on them will lead you to further information on each division and photographs of its strongpoints and bunkers.


Korpsnachrichtenabteilung 437 Oberst Ernst Mangelsdorff 01.04.40 - 01.44
Oberstleutnant Wilhelm Wagner 01.44 - 08.44
Korpsnachschubtruppen 437 Major Karl Mayer-Walcher 09.41 - 02.44
Heerespanzerjägerabteilung 668 Major Heinrich Draeger 03.44 - 45
Festungsstammabteilung LXXXII Oberst Günther Kleedehn 09.43 - 44
Feldgendarmerietrupp 437    
Artilleriekommandeur 141 Oberstleutnant von Seybel(?) 41 - 19.09.42
Generalmajor zbV Heinrich Müller 20.09.42 - 22.07.43
Oberst Gerd-Paul von Below 21.07.43 - 9.44


    The headquarters of the corps was based in Aire-sur-la-Lys, 19 kilometres southeast of Saint-Omer. In 1943 bunkers were built within the grounds of the French army barracks Taix and Listenoix. The organisation Todt built 3 large headquarters bunkers, a machine bunker, a Michelmannstand for heavy MG, as well as an important covered trench. Concrete guard posts, barracks, and an observation post complete the headquarters.

Overview of the headquarters, showing the four bunkers and the covered trench

The R608 housed the Artilleriekommandeur 141 and his staff.



This Sonderkonstruktion served as quarters for officers of the corps as was camouflaged as a house by the addition of a roof.
On its right a machine bunker was built in order to ensure a steady flow of electricity in case of a failure of the power grid.

The bunker had a telephone exchange, offices, showers, a heating room and a large number of bedrooms.

The second Sonderkonstruktion was by far the most important one due to its size (33.10m x 16m).
In its 24 rooms it housed a large part of the general staff, as well as the commander.

This bunker too was camouflaged to look like a house by the addition of two false roofs.


KVA B     KVA C   KVA D1