Thoughts Of Metal navbar Thoughts Of Metal Logo News Metalgenres Reviews Links Varia About Contact

.:CD Reviews:.

NOSTRADAMEUS – Words Of Nostradameus (AFM Records 2000)

Nostradameus - Words Of Nostradameus
  1. Words Of Nostradameus
  2. The Vision
  3. Out Of This World
  4. Nightmare Prophecy
  5. Without Your Love
  6. Master Of The Night
  7. Black Fate
  8. The Crown's Inn
  9. Resurrection
  10. Brother In Chains
  11. One For All, All For One

Melodic powermetal from Sweden, NOSTRADAMEUS (website) brings songs based on Nostradamus' predictions and sayings. With their debut album, the band has composed a strong, powerful and rough album. Filled with fast riffs and uptempo drums, they show they've got talent.

Produced by Jake and Freddy, the strong and clear sound was also made possible by the renowned Mikko Karmila at Finnvox Studios.

The album starts with a chanting intro before the riffs and fast drumming from "The Vision" take over. This fast pace continues with the very nice "Out Of This World", which has a catchy chorus and easy to sing-along. Personally, this is one of my favourites here.

It seems the band take the term 'powermetal' very serious and don't slow down, until the ballad "Without Your Love". While the previous songs were good to very good, this one seems to be the bad apple. Freddy has a certain roughness in his voice, which also makes it suitable for this kind of metal, but when singing slow, it's... boring and you want to skip the song. Melodically too, it just isn't that good. If this song would not have been on the album, it would be better in my opinion. The miss wouldn't be great at all or maybe even non-exisitent.

Luckily the guys know how to go on... vicious riffs and drums form the center of attention again and this until the end.

Another characteristic of this album are the guitar solos. Not only do you get heavy riffs, but the solos get plenty of attention too. And they are really good, if I may say so.

Accoustically, the band also knows how to implement it. Here "The Crown's Inn"'s intro prooves it, before electric instruments continue the song. A very nice feature in this song is the chorus, which is sung with multiple voices / in choir form and I must say this is really well done.

On the closing, but uplifting song "One For All, All For One", Joacim Cans from HAMMERFALL made a guest appearance.

NOSTRADAMEUS's debut album is a must for those who like fast riffs, solos, ... and of course Powermetal fans in general. A very clear sound, added with a certain roughness, a lot of uptempo drumming.. I can even compare it with EDGUY's "Theater Of Salvation" album, in terms of sound. And while you're at it, check out their other releases too, though I find this one their best.

Freddy Persson - vocals, bass
Jake Fredén - guitars, keyboards
Erik Sönderman - guitars
Gustav Nahlin - drums

<<Go back

Reviews 2000

On this page
Words Of